NSBA leaders win first-ever BAMMY Awards

Mary Broderick, the 2011-12 President of the National School Boards Association, and David A. Pickler, NSBA’s President Elect, were honored with BAMMY Awards, a new recognition designed to acknowledge excellence in a variety of education fields.

The BAMMY Awards is organized by BAM Radio Network, which produces education programs for  education associations.

Broderick, a former member of the East Lyme, Conn. school board received the BAMMY for the school board category. Pickler, a member of the Shelby County, Tenn. school board, received the Educator’s Voice Award, which included the most online votes.

The awards were given on Sept. 15 in numerous categories across disciplines in the K-12 field – including teachers, administrators, school nurses, support staff, advocates, researchers, early childhood specialists, education journalists and parents.

Lifetime achievement awards were given to author and advocate Diane Ravitch, researcher Linda Darling Hammond and journalist John Merrow.

According to the organizers, “the BAMMY Awards acknowledge that teachers can’t do it alone and don’t do it alone. The Awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition of excellence in education, encourage collaboration and respect in and across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field.”

Joetta Sack-Min|September 21st, 2012|Categories: Announcements, Board governance|Tags: , , , |

Leave a Reply