Oklahoma legislature lauds record-setting school board member

The Oklahoma House of Representatives has honored Frances M. Percival for her work as the longest-serving school board member in Oklahoma’s history. She also is the longest-serving female elected official in the United States, according to state Rep. Mike Shelton.

Frances Percival with Oklahoma Rep. Mike Shelton

Frances Percival with Oklahoma Rep. Mike Shelton

Leaders of the Oklahoma House of Representatives surprised Percival with a resolution “for her many contributions to the Millwood School District and the State of Oklahoma,” which was adopted by unanimous consent and three standing ovations. The resolution was then delivered to the Senate for consideration.

Percival, 86, was recognized for 44 consecutive years as a member of the Millwood school board and more than half a century of service as a Millwood School District volunteer. The resolution states that Percival began her service in the Millwood district as a volunteer in 1958: “She served selflessly as a classroom assistant office aide, cafeteria monitor, patron telephone book editor, and held a PTA office.” She was instrumental in the first Oklahoma City public school uniform dress code implemented at Millwood, and was active in the development of the Millwood Arts Academy and the Freshmen Academy, according to the resolution sponsored by Rep. Shelton.

Percival represents the Millwood school board on the Oklahoma State School Boards Association as a District 6 director, and has served on three of the OSSBA’s committees. Shawn Hime, executive director of the OSSBA, noted that her fellow board members “have elected her to the board for over 25 years.”

The National School Boards Association (NSBA) recognized Percival in 1997 for “outstanding commitment to public education through proven school board leadership,” and she received NSBA’s Award for Distinguished Service. She also has participated in NSBA’s Federal Relations Network and the State Legislative Network.

Joetta Sack-Min|May 14th, 2014|Categories: NSBA Recognition Programs, School Boards, State School Boards Associations|

Leave a Reply